Comparing before you buy a steel building: channels, cladding and sandwich panels
Updated on 24 October 2026
Five ways to buy, compared
The table summarises what we observed on seller pages read on 24 October 2026. It is neither a ranking nor a complete survey, and no seller is named in the text.
| Criterion | DIY store | Online kit seller | Local steel construction firm | Import from Poland, Turkey or China | Hallfort's model (planned) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sizes available | Garages of 15 to 23 m² [1][3][4] | Dutch price tables up to about 300 m², with a 21 m maximum width at one of them [6][8]. One Luxembourg-based seller prices up to 1,110 m² [10] | Made to measure, from agricultural building to industrial hall, no standard models [12][14] | Depends on the maker: from 5 x 8 m at a Polish seller active in Germany [17], 100 m² minimum at a Chinese offer [19] | From garages and carports to agricultural buildings and halls, see the ranges |
| Price published | Yes, per item: 719 EUR excl. VAT for a light 18.56 m² steel garage, or 39 EUR/m² [1]. The other store prices found do not state VAT [2][3] | Often: tables or from-prices at four sellers read [6][8][9][11], none at others [31] | Rarely. Two Belgian firms give no price, by quote [12][13]. A Dutch contractor publishes a range on an information page [32] | List prices on Chinese marketplaces of 33 to 55 USD/m² FOB [19][20]. A Polish seller: 141 EUR/m² for 200 m² delivered and erected in Germany, VAT not stated [17]. No price at the Turkish maker, quote within 24 to 48 hours [18] | Indicative range excl. VAT from the configurator, based on the published cost model. The binding price is in the quote, after the stability study |
| Configurator | None for steel. One chain's covers aluminium carports [5] | Yes at several Dutch sellers and at one Luxembourg-based seller [6][9][10] | None at the firms consulted [12][13] | Not seen: quote request forms [18][19] | Yes, the configurator |
| Assembly | Kit to assemble yourself. Installation optional through a partner, 2,420 EUR on one garage [3] | Mostly by the customer with drawings and phone help [6][8], or optional by a crew or partner firms [9][10] | Own crews at some [12], turnkey from permit to delivery at others [14] | Free assembly announced in Germany at a Polish seller [17]. The Turkish maker offers four levels up to full assembly by a certified crew [18]. Chinese offers FOB, assembly not included, supervision offered [19] | Planned as an option, by partner crews still to be selected |
| Permit help | Not mentioned on the pages read [1][3] | One seller says it supplies plans and calculations for the permit application [7]. Another presents its models as permit-free subject to local rules [8]. No page read covers Belgian permits [6][9] | Permit to delivery at some [14] | Not mentioned on the pages read [17][19] | Help with the file: plans, the fabricator's structural calculation notes, coordination with your architect. Never a promise of a permit |
| EN 1090 documents | Not mentioned [1][3] | Not mentioned on the pages read [6][8][9][11] | Announced by several: classes 1 to 3 [12], up to EXC3 [13][15], NEN-EN 1090-1 [16] | The Turkish maker announces EXC2 and EXC3 with CE marking [18]. Not cited on the Chinese pages read [19]. The importer must check CE marking and the declaration of performance [21] | Planned requirement: partner fabricators certified to EN 1090-1, EXC2 by default (EXC1 possible for some agricultural buildings if the engineer confirms). No partnership is signed yet. The declaration of performance will be the fabricator's. Hallfort itself holds no certification |
| Language | Local language of the store, for example French or Dutch [2][3] | Dutch only at the Dutch sellers read [6][8][9], French at a Luxembourg-based seller that delivers Belgium [10] | Language of the region, for example French in Wallonia [12] | German, English or Dutch depending on the seller [17][18][19] | French, Dutch and English |
The figures are those of the pages read, with their different scopes. Divide a price incl. VAT by 1 + the VAT rate actually included: 1.21 only for a 21% rate. Leave out prices whose VAT is unknown. See the price per m² by type.
Importing from Poland, Turkey or China: what to check
Regulation (EU) 2024/3110 places duties on whoever puts a steel kit on the market. An importer must check that the manufacturer has drawn up the technical documentation, that the product bears the CE marking and that the declaration of performance goes with it, and that instructions are in a suitable language. An importer selling directly to end users also has the duties of a distributor [21]. Whoever resells under its own brand is treated as the manufacturer [21]. If you import yourself for your own building, ask the manufacturer for these documents before you pay.
The offers observed differ widely. A Polish seller active in Germany announces free delivery and assembly across the country for a 200 m² hall at 28,180 EUR, about 141 EUR/m² (calc, VAT not stated) [17]. A Turkish maker announces EXC2 and EXC3 with CE marking, transport to the Netherlands in 3 to 4 days by road or 8 to 10 days by sea to Rotterdam, and a detailed quote within 24 to 48 hours [18]. Chinese suppliers show list prices of 33 to 55 USD/m² FOB, with freight and assembly separate, no CE or EN 1090 on the pages read, and a company not verified on the platform [19][20]. These are advertised prices, not contractual offers.
Cladding compared: single skin, felt, sandwich panel
| Type | Common use | Advantages | Limits | Published price, EUR/m² |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Single skin sheet | Unheated buildings: storage, farm machinery, carports | Cheapest, light, simple to fit | No insulation. Moisture condenses under the cold sheet, which the felt tries to limit | 10 to 14.5: lacquered sheet of 0.4 to 0.5 mm, DIY retail price excl. VAT (calc from 12.17 to 17.48 incl. 21% VAT) [22]. Trade prices in volume are lower and were not found |
| Single skin sheet with anti-condensation felt | Unheated buildings where condensation drips would damage equipment or stock | Keeps the single skin sheet and reduces condensation drips | Does not insulate thermally | Price not found (to be verified). Felts of 700 and 1,000 g/m² are offered as an option on roof sheets by one supplier (search extract, page not retrieved, to be verified) [26]. Included without a separate price in a 618 m² kit [25] |
| 60 mm PIR sandwich panel | Workshops and heated or lightly heated rooms, insulated storage | Insulation and finish in a single fixing. A composite panel of 40 to 100 mm weighs about 10 to 15 kg/m² (calc) [28] | Higher price. Core choice and fire behaviour are to be checked for each project | 25.50 (24.50 from 150 m²): wall panel, Dutch trade seller, November 2025 [23]. At retail, a 40 mm PIR panel is 44.77 excl. VAT per 1 m wide metre (calc) [24] |
| 100 mm PIR sandwich panel | Heated halls with a higher insulation requirement | Better insulation than at 60 mm, same fixing logic | Heavier and dearer. No verified trade price in the Benelux (to be verified) | 57.38 excl. VAT at retail in Austria (calc) [24] |
Watch the unit. The prices above are per m² of wall. A buyer thinks in m² of floor. At one Dutch seller, a 300 m² hall goes from 180 to 220 EUR/m² uninsulated to 220 to 280 with 40 mm panels, so 40 to 60 EUR/m² of floor more, and to 280 to 350 with 80 mm, so 100 to 130 more (calc) [7]. A German maker puts the extra cost of an 80 mm panel at 60 to 75 EUR/m² [27].
Panels with a mineral wool core also exist [29]. We found no reliable 2026 price: to be verified. Coating warranties on the panels run from 15 to 40 years depending on the range at one manufacturer [30].
Where Hallfort's model is not the best fit
- A garden shed or small garage. For 15 m², a DIY store is cheaper: a 15.36 m² metal garage is listed at 899 EUR, VAT not stated [4], and a light 18.56 m² garage is 719 EUR excl. VAT, or 39 EUR/m² [1].
- One contract for everything, foundation and permit included. A local builder or general contractor offers permit to delivery [14]. At Hallfort, foundations, slab, permit, architect, earthworks and electricity are not included unless stated.
- The bare frame at the lowest price. Other offers may be cheaper, such as kits published at about 61 to 101 EUR/m² [10] or imported kits [19][20]. Hallfort's price provides for a stability study for the site and fabricators certified to EN 1090-1, and that scope has a cost.
- A contact to visit. A local builder, or a seller with a showroom [9], suits you better if you want to see the products and the crews.
- A track record to consult. Hallfort is being set up and has no track record yet. No partnership is signed yet: once the partner fabricators are chosen, ask for their references and check their EN 1090 certificates before signing.
Comparing offers in practice
- Put all offers excl. VAT and on the same floor area.
- Note what each price includes: delivery, assembly, crane, doors, foundations, permit drawings.
- Ask for the steel fabricator's EN 1090 certificate and declaration of performance.
- Check the snow and wind loads used in the calculation.
- For cladding, compare the extra cost per m² of floor and not only the price per m² of panel.
For a first figure, use the configurator, then ask for a quote. See also the price index, kit or turnkey and EN 1090 and CE marking.
Frequently asked questions
Where do I buy a steel building in Belgium or the Netherlands?
It depends on size and need. For a shed or small garage, a DIY store [1][4]. For a kit of a few hundred m², a kit seller [6][8][10]. For a large made-to-measure building under one contract, a local builder [14]. Hallfort aims at the kit with an open price, optional assembly and permit help.
What is the difference between single skin sheet and a sandwich panel?
Single skin sheet does not insulate and costs about 10 to 14.5 EUR/m² excl. VAT at retail [22]. A PIR sandwich panel combines insulation and finish and costs about 25.50 EUR/m² in 60 mm at trade price [23].
What do sandwich panels cost per m²?
A 60 mm PIR wall panel is listed at 25.50 EUR/m² excl. VAT at a Dutch trade seller [23]. At retail, 100 mm PIR is 57.38 in Austria [24]. No verified trade price for 100 mm in the Benelux (to be verified).
Is it safe to import a steel building kit?
It takes checks. The importer must verify the CE marking, the declaration of performance and the manufacturer's technical documentation [21]. The Chinese pages read cite neither CE nor EN 1090 [19].
Does Hallfort hold EN 1090 certification?
No. Hallfort itself holds no certification. The structure will be fabricated and CE marked by partner fabricators certified to EN 1090-1, with EXC2 required by default. No partnership is signed yet. The declaration of performance will be the fabricator's.
Sources
- Praxis, H&J Houston steel garage (product page), accessed on 2026-10-24
- Mr Bricolage Belgium, Yardmaster metal garage (product page), accessed on 2026-10-24
- Hubo, Telluria 3663G garage (product page), accessed on 2026-10-24
- Brico, H&J Nevada metal garage 15.36 m² (product page), accessed on 2026-10-24
- Brico, made-to-measure outdoor configurator, accessed on 2026-10-24
- Optistaal, what does a shed cost (2026 table), accessed on 2026-10-24
- Optistaal, building an industrial hall, accessed on 2026-10-24
- Huisman, permit-free shed kits (price per model), accessed on 2026-10-24
- Finish Building, cost of a custom shed, accessed on 2026-10-24
- Luxembourg kit seller, steel buildings in kit form (website), accessed on 2026-10-24
- Frisokit, steel buildings to assemble yourself, accessed on 2026-10-24
- Clarinval Constructions, turnkey agricultural halls, accessed on 2026-10-24
- Metaalconstructie Meynen, steel constructions, accessed on 2026-10-24
- Staalbouw DtB, agricultural steel construction, accessed on 2026-10-24
- Novicon, cost of a steel structure, accessed on 2026-10-24
- Hanse Staalbouw, steel construction, accessed on 2026-10-24
- Blechtrans, steel halls made in Poland, accessed on 2026-10-24
- SerBuild, steel kits for the Netherlands, accessed on 2026-10-24
- Qingdao Longtai Steel Construction, prefabricated warehouse (b2usa), accessed on 2026-10-24
- Qingdao Showhoo Steel Structure, warehouse (Made-in-China), accessed on 2026-10-24
- FPS Economy, obligations of economic operators (Regulation (EU) 2024/3110), accessed on 2026-10-24
- Hornbach NL, metal roof sheets (24 Oct 2026), accessed on 2026-10-24
- Marktplaats listing, wall sandwich panels 60 and 80 mm (20 Nov 2025), accessed on 2026-10-24
- Hornbach AT, sandwich panels (24 Oct 2026), accessed on 2026-10-24
- BatiProduits, 620 m² kit from a Luxembourg kit seller, accessed on 2026-10-24
- HMG Benelux, roof sheet datasheet (anti-condensation felt, page not retrieved), accessed on 2026-10-24
- SmartHalls, steel hall prices 2026 (26 Jan 2026), accessed on 2026-10-24
- SteelConstruction.info, students' guide to single-storey buildings, accessed on 2026-10-24
- Industriebouwen.be, PIR and mineral wool sandwich panels, accessed on 2026-10-24
- SAB-profiel, PIR sandwich panels (coating warranties), accessed on 2026-10-24
- Panelsell, hall and shed kits, accessed on 2026-10-24
- Visser Dokkum, cost of a 1,000 m² shed, accessed on 2026-10-24